The Building and its History

Building and History

churchlife2VISITING KENDAL PARISH CHURCH: In a busy world, Kendal Parish Church provides a perfect setting for quiet reflection and prayer, and a fascinating place to visit…

history1STAINED GLASS: The extensive stained glass at Kendal Parish Church allows the visitor to explore the history of the Christian faith, as well as to learn something of our own history…

history2BELLS: The twelve bells dating from 1537 allow spirited performance by an enthusiastic team of ringer…

history4ORGANS: We have two organs. The Main Willis Organ was enlarged in 1905, rebuilt in 1969…

history5PARISH REGISTERS: Kendal Parish recordis extend back to the 16th century when churches were required (as we are to this day) to make regular accounting of parish life…

history6GREATER PARISH: Kendal was once one of England’s largest parishes including Windermere, Grasmere and fourteen other chapelries, all set in magnificent countryside…

map_kpchTOUR: An interactive map lets you explore the building…

history7LIST OF VICARS: The Vicars of Kendal go back to the late 12th century, and while much has changed both inside and outside the church, the role of the Vicar continues to be the focal point for the community…

Brief History

Kendal Parish Church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, is one of the widest Parish Churches in the country and dates from the early thirteenth century, though it occupies the site of a much earlier Church.

A record in the Domesday Book, and the shaft of an Anglian Cross, housed in the Parr Chapel and dated at approximately AD 850, suggest a very early beginning.

history8

The present building originally consisted of a nave, chancel, two aisles and the tower; the six nave pillars. lower part of the tower, pillars and the West Wall surviving to the present day. It is thought that some of the sandstone from the Saxon Church is incorporated in the present building.

At one time, there were several Chantry Chapels in the Church, where Priests held Services for families or communities.

The Parr Chapel was built by the Parr family in the fourteenth century, and the family coats of arms are to be seen on the ceiling. The large tomb in this Chapel is believed to be that of William Parr, grandfather of Katherine, the last wife of King Henry VIII.